The "Appling Rangers were formed March 4, 1862 as Company F, 11th Battalion, Georgia Volunteer Infantry. On May 12, 1862 the 11th Battalion was merged into the 47th Georgia Volunteer Infantry. James H. Latimer was elected as Captain of the Company on March 4, 1862. When he resigned on October 26, 1863 he was replaced as Captain by Joseph G. Dedge.
Originally deployed in the Charleston, South Carolina area they were engaged at Grimbollís at the Stono before the Battle of Secessionville on James Island, Morris Island and Proctor's Point in South Carolina and were then assigned in Savannah in late 1862. In the Spring of 1863 the 47th Georgia was transferred to Mississippi and participated in the siege of Jackson, Mississippi and were engaged in Marion, Mississippi. In the summer of 1863 the "Rangers" were assigned to General Stovall's and J. T. Jackson's Brigades with the Army of Tennessee. They fought with the Army of Tennessee at Chickamauga, Chattanooga and Missionary Ridge. They participated in the Atlanta Campaign and were engaged at Dalton, Resaca, Oostanaula, Cassville, New Hope Church, they were on Pigeon Hill at Kennesaw Mountain.


After the battle of Kennesaw Mountain they were sent to Savannah, Georgia to assist in the defense of the Georgia and South Carolina Coast.

The 47th Regiment was then employed in the defense of Charleston. The Appling Rangers were active in fights at Johns Island, James Island, Pocatilago, Coosawatchie, Tullifinney and Honey Hill. The 47th Georgia was then transferred to G. P. Harrison's command and again participated in the Defense of Savannah. When Hardee pulled out from Savannah, the Appling Rangers were consolidated with the 32th Georgia and Bonaud's Battalion under General Johnston and were involved in the Campaign in South Carolina and North Carolina. In 1865 they were in battles at Rivers Bridge in South Carolina and Averysboro and Bentonville in North Carolina. On April 26, 1865 they surrendered with General Joseph E. Johnston at Greensboro, North Carolina.

William A. Bowers, Jr. - 2014